2000 years - how long is that?

 

It is true - at first glance the New Testament is not really new! Although not all of its parts have been created at the same point in time, one may accept the age of 2000 years as a rounded value.  With a certain right one may ask why scriptures of such an age should be of any relevance today.

 

1) True masterpieces do not lose their value. Imagine that you would find today a draft sketch by William Turner or a small painting by Rembrandt: Those works would be several hundred years old. Still their value would not have decreased by that long time - just in the contrary! For such finds today much higher prices are being paid compared to the time when they were created.

 

2) With us humans a period of 2000 years appears to be quite long - with God it is not more than a snapping of fingers. "With the Lord a thousand years is as one day, and one day  as a thousand years", because his are both time and eternity. The meaning of this is: Please do consider God's timeline, then that impressive period of time melts down a lot!

 

3) Has the world changed a lot since those disappeared times? I do not think so. People are being born and they die; they love and they hate; they get married and they get divorced; they tell the truth and they tell lies; they get rich and they get poor. Finally they fall into the grave, and who will ask for them? Only one thing is for sure: In front of God they are all alive, and all will have to justify themselves. Better be prepared for that and ensure you have the best lawyer: Jesus Christ.

 

The NT was written a long time ago in a country far away. Why should it be relevant even today?!

2000 ans – Il y a longtemps ou il n'y a pas longtemps ?

 

C'est juste : Au contraire de son nom, le Nouveau Testament n'est pas un nouveau livre. Ses composants n'ont pas été rédigés en même temps, mais on peut accepter l’âge de 2000 ans comme une valeur arrondie. Il est justifié de demander pourquoi des documents très âgés devraient courants toujours.

 

1) Des chefs-d'œuvre véritables ne se dévalorisent jamais. Laissez nous imaginer que vous trouverez aujourd’hui une ébauche de Monet ou une petite peinture de Rembrandt : Ces œuvres auraient plusieurs centaines d'années. Mais ils ne se dévalorisèrent pas – au contraire ! Telles trouvailles coûtent plus chères aujourd’hui qu’en ce temps-là quand ils ont été créé.

 

2) À nous humaines une période de 2000 ans semble longue – pour Dieu ce n’est pas plus longue comme un claquement de doigts. « Pour le Seigneur, mille ans sont comme un jour est un jour est comme mille ans », puisque il est le propriétaire de temps et d’éternité. Mon opinion est comme ça : Si nous suivons la même compréhension de temps qui a Dieu, puis cet âge impressionnant se diminue fort.

 

3) Est-ce que le monde vraiment a changé signifiant depuis le temps vieux ? Ça je ne pense pas. Les gens sont nés et meurent ; ils aiment et ils détestent ; ils se marient et ils divorcent ; ils dirent la vérité et ils débitent des mensonges; ils deviennent riches et ils deviennent pauvres. Finalement ils tombent à la tombe, et qui demandera les ? Seulement une chose est sûre : Touts sont vivants en face de Dieu, et touts doivent se justifier. Préparez-vous et prenez l’avocat bon – c’est Jésus-Christ.

 

Le NT a été écrit il y a longtemps en une région distante. Pourquoi il devrait être encore d’actualité ?